Songs from the City Earth, Vol. I

by various artists

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Songs from the City Earth, Vol. I via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $4 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $1 USD  or more




Fringe Sound Records' second release, while not strictly an experiment in cross-genre collaboration, is largely an album whose ten songs involve a number of artists who may never have come together to make music had they not been challenged to do so. We live in a highly developed and densely populated world nowadays, a planet that is not so much an Earth but a City Earth, across which we have created a vast network that allows for endeavors such as this. So, employing this network, the label reached out to select independent musicians and singer/songwriters from all over, each of them a tremendous musical talent in his or her way, in hopes that they might take part in this project. What resulted was this, Songs from the City Earth, Vol. I., and we are extremely happy with it and proud to give it a proper release.

Connecticut-based indie hip-hop folk artist Ceschi teamed up with Minnesota-based producer/percussionist Graham O'Brien (No Bird Sing, Moon & Pollution, Camp Dark, etc.) for the song "Awakening." Canadian folk singer/songwriter Dana Sipos collaborated with Dutch producer Maarten Rischen and American contemporary composer Sean Harold, with the help of few other talented musicians, to realize the song "Old Blue." Scottish bluesman Sleepy Eyes Nelson joined forces with his electro alter-ego Sundowner Head State for "The Worst Old Feeling." Irish jazz-punk ensemble Robocobra Quartet expanded their ranks and instrumentation for the song "Kikazaru." San Francisco-based bizarro rock n' roll one-man band The Slow Poisoner collaborated with accomplished producer Ed Goldfarb for "Laminated Sofa." Pennsylvania-based indie artist Matt Miller (The One and Only Matt Miller, Endless Mike and the Beagle Club) teamed up with Cleveland's electro minimalist and vocal-layering one-woman band Uno Lady for the song "Hysterical Laughter." Austin-based roots singer/songwriter Izzy Cox joined up with sonic artist and fellow Texan Zebulon Whatley for "No One Gives a Fuck." New Zealand singer/songwriter Delaney Davidson contributed a solo demo version of his song "So Far Away." And Texas dark roots and gothic country band Sons of Perdition added some electronic elements to its music for the song "Circling the Drain."

Sincere thanks to Melissa Maaser, Chris Stahley, Daniel Carlson, Phoenix Spinozzi, and all of the amazing participating artists whose songs made this compilation what it is.


released February 12, 2016

Click on info option beside each song for full track credits
Cover art by Chris Stahley
Back cover and design by Phoenix Spinozzi


all rights reserved



Fringe Sound Records Pennsylvania

We are a tiny independent label out of Pennsylvania.

contact / help

Contact Fringe Sound Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like Songs from the City Earth, Vol. I, you may also like: